Rail Roko: DMRC closes entry, exit at four metro stations

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) decided to shut the entry and exit games of four metro stations in Delhi on Thursday (February 18), keeping in view of the ‘Rail Roko Andolan’ called by the protesting farmers. The four metro stations closed throughout the day fall on the Green Line of the Delhi Metro network.Metro

The metro passengers in Delhi are advised to avoid travelling to these four stations: Pandit Shree Ram Sharma, Brig. Hoshiar Singh, Bahadurgarh City, and Tikri Border. The commuters should plan their travel accordingly to places that fall on these routes.

The security at borders of Delhi with Haryana and Punjab as well as at the Ghaziabad border with Uttar Pradesh has been increased. The Indian railways have sent 20 additional companies of the Railway Protection Special Force (RPSF) across India. The primary focus is on Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Related:- Is ‘international tukde tukde gang’ behind farmers’ protest?

Uttar Pradesh is on alert in view of the protests to keep the situation in control. In addition, additional police have been sent to the Palwal railway station in Haryana.

According to the reports, the protesting farmers blocked some of the routes for their agitation two hours ahead of the call time of the ‘Rail Roko Andolan’. The protestors reportedly blocked the Jodhpur Howrah Express at the Bhabhua station in the Kaimur district of Bihar.

Related:- Poll 2020: COVID-19 was the biggest news of the year

The umbrella body of farmer unions leading the ongoing farmers’ movement, Samyukta Kisan Morcha, had announced the ‘Rail Roko Andolan’ last week. It is the third major protest demonstration, after the Republic Day tractor rally and the ‘chakka jam’ earlier this month.

The farmer’s protest has been ongoing for many months now. The farmers want the central government to repeal three agricultural laws passed last year. These laws are the Farmers Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act, the Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Act, and the Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act.